Loyola University Chicago

Retreat & Ecology Campus

Restoration Work Days

Spend Your Saturday Volunteering at LUREC

Get your community service done in the great outdoors and spend one Saturday a month in beautiful McHenry County restoring Loyola's Retreat and Ecology Campus.  Join us, every second Saturday of the month, for a Restoration Work Day at LUREC. We're always looking for a few good volunteers to help restore the natural areas of our Retreat and Ecology Campus.

Saturday mornings are full of restoration activity and volunteers will get a chance to:

  • clear brush (buckthorn and honeysuckle removal)
  • monitor water flow to and from artificial pond
  • collect seeds and plant native species.

After lunch (its on the house) volunteers will help with chores on the farm.‌

Check out these pictures of work volunteers have done on Restoration Work Days.


Restoration Work Day Volunteer Schedule

LUREC Restoration Work Days occur the second Saturday of every month. The volunteer session starts at 9:30 a.m. at LUREC and lunch will be served. *Please note that there will be no vans available during the summer months.


Academic Year 2018-2019 
Work Day Schedule 

Saturday, August 11
Saturday, September 8
Saturday, October 13
Saturday, November 10
Saturday, December 8
Saturday, January 12
Saturday, February 9
Saturday, March 9
Saturday, April 13
Saturday, May 11

Please RSVP to Bobbi Lammers at rlammer@luc.edu if you are able to attend.