Loyola University Chicago

English Language Learning Program

Loyola’s ESL program

ELLP Faculty and Staff

Loyola University Chicago's ELLP Program faculty members are first-rate language instructors with extensive experience teaching English to speakers of other languages. All of our faculty members have an advanced degree in TESOL or a related field, and most have lived and worked in other countries.

The small size of the ELLP Program permits close communication between faculty and students, allowing English learners to get the individual attention and assistance they need. Our students consistently mention this personalized touch as one of the most attractive and important features of the program.

Current Director

Beth Lair Beth Lair
Assistant Director of ESL
Contact: 773.508.3990
blair@luc.edu
Steve Fehr Steven Fehr
ESL Coordinator
Contact: 773.508.3880
sfehr@luc.edu
 Siqian (Mavis) Meng
Student Worker
Contact: 773.508.3990
esl@luc.edu

Current Faculty & ELLP Team members

 Amanda Burgoyne
MA TESOL/Applied Linguistics, University of Illinois at Chicago
aburgoyne@luc.edu
 Jordan Carson
MA TESOL/Applied Linguistics, University of Illinois at Chicago
jcarson1@luc.edu
Nora Darby Nora Darby
MA & TESOL Certification and Endorsement
ndarby@luc.edu
 Nicole Dodson
MEd Curriculum & Instruction, National Louis University
TESOL Certification
ndodson@luc.edu
Nancy Garcia Nancy Garcia
MA Applied Linguistics, University of Utah
ngarcia6@luc.edu
 Sarah Lindsey
Masters in ESL Education, The University of Tennessee
slindsey@luc.edu
 Kenneth Pettigrew
MA TESOL/Applied Linguistics, University of Illinois at Chicago
kpettigrew@luc.edu
 Linda Rousos
MA TESOL, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
lrousos@luc.edu
Gilda Ruman Gil Ruman
MA Applied Linguistics, Northeastern Illinois University
MBA DePaul University
gruman@luc.edu
Jennifer Schwarzkopf Jennifer Schwarzkopf
MA TESOL, University of Illinois at Chicago
jschwarzkopf@luc.edu
 Michael Slager
MA Russian Language & Literature, University of Illinois at Chicago
mslager@luc.edu