Loyola University Chicago

Latin American & Latino Studies Program

Faculty Directory

Department of Modern Languages and Literature

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Héctor García Chávez, Ph.D. Faculty Crown Center 109 773.508.2863
hgarci1@luc.edu
Denis Heyck, Ph.D. Professor Emerita Crown Center 204 773.508.2867
dheyck@luc.edu
Ana B. Rodríguez Navas, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Crown Center 108 773.508.2171
arodrigueznavas@luc.edu
Natalia Valencia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Crown Center 468 773.508.3947
nvalencia@luc.edu

Department of Anthropology

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Philip J. Arnold III, Ph.D. Professor BVM Tower 703 773.508.3475
parnold@luc.edu
Ruth Gomberg-Muñoz, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Anthropology Undergraduate Program Director BVM Tower 807 (773) 508-3582
rgombergmunoz@luc.edu
Benjamin Penglase, Ph.D. Associate Professor BVM Tower 806 773.508.3430
Bpengla@luc.edu

Department of English

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Suzanne Bost, Ph.D. Professor Crown Center 447 88470
sbost@luc.edu

School of Social Work

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Maria Vidal de Haymes, Ph.D. Full Professor, Director of the Institute of Migration and Global Studies in Practice in Social Work Lewis Towers 1241 312.915.7020
mvidal@luc.edu

School of Communication

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Elizabeth Lozano, Ph.D. Associate Professor Lewis Towers 905 312.915.7768
elozano@luc.edu

Department of Political Science

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Peter M. Sanchez, Ph.D. Professor
Political Science Graduate Program Director (GPD)
Coffey Hall 332 773.508.8658
psanche@luc.edu
Megan Sholar, Ph.D. Lecturer Campion Hall 131 773.508.2692
msholar@luc.edu

Department of History

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Benjamin Johnson, Ph.D. Associate Professor Crown Center 544 773.508.3082
bjohnson25@luc.edu
Victor Padilla Part-Time Faculty Crown Center 537 vpadilla@luc.edu
Gema Santamaría, Ph.D. Assistant Professor

School of Education

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Kate Phillipo Assistant Professor Lewis Towers 1038, WTC 312.915.6910
kphillippo@luc.edu

Department of Sociology

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Cristian Paredes, Ph.D. Associate Professor Coffey Hall 430 773.508.3460
cparedes@luc.edu