Loyola University Chicago

Department of Anthropology

About Us

Anthropology is a discipline that uniquely bridges the social and natural sciences. Anthropologists study the diversity of humankind as manifest through time and across the globe. The scope of anthropology is vast, and is divided traditionally into four major subfields, each of which contribute distinct perspectives on the issues of what makes us human:

  • Biological anthropology addresses the physical properties of humans and their primate relatives, both now and in prehistory.
  • Cultural anthropology investigates contemporary human cultures and the diversity of human social institutions.
  • Archaeology concerns cultures of the past.
  • Linguistic anthropology focuses on language and its interrelationship with culture.

Together, these branches of study teach us about modern human biological and cultural diversity, as well as our evolutionary origins, thereby enhancing our understanding of the past, present and future of the human species.

The Anthropology Department offers a Bachelor or Arts in Anthropology, a Bachelor of Science in Anthropology, an anthropology minor, as well as a combined major in sociology/anthropology leading to a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology/Anthropology.

The department boasts a variety of special resources for students, including a biological anthropology laboratory; archaeology laboratory; anthropometric, photographic and bioplastic research material; dark room; computer facilities; and the Human Relations Area Files on microfiche.

There is also an active Chardin Anthropology Club which organizes anthropology-related activities, guest speakers and field trips for interested majors.