Loyola University Chicago

Modern Languages and Literatures

Foreign Language (FL) Placement Coordinators

Coordinators are teaching faculty in the Modern Languages & Literatures Department. They will help you determine which course is the best for you, given your previous experience with the language, either in a classroom or outside of one. Coordinators may base their placement recommendation on an interview (by phone or in person) and/or quiz and/or short writing sample.

Summer Freshmen Orientations

During summer freshmen orientation sessions, FL coordinators will vary. At least one will be present during course registration.

Coordinators During the Academic Year

LanguageCoordinatorE-mailPhone
Arabic Prof. Marcia Hermansen mherman@luc.edu 773.508.2345
Chinese Prof. Hong Chen hchen4@luc.edu 773.508.7326
French Prof. Lisa Erceg lerceg@luc.edu 773.508.2853
German Prof. Reinhard Andress randress@luc.edu 773.508.7365
Hebrew Prof. Wiley Feinstein wfeinst@luc.edu 773.508.2868
Hindi Prof. Vijay Shah vshah7@luc.edu  
Italian Prof. Wiley Feinstein wfeinst@luc.edu 773.508.2868
Japanese Prof. Janet Fair jfair@luc.edu 773.508.8553
Polish Prof. Bozena McLees bmclees@luc.edu 773.508.2864
Portuguese Prof. Carla da Silva cdasilva1@luc.edu  
Russian Prof. Svetlana Dembovskaya sdembov@luc.edu 773.508.2862
Spanish 101–102 Prof. Clara Burgo cburgo@luc.edu 773.508.8296
Spanish 103–104 Prof. Martin Ponti mponti@luc.edu 773.508.7604
Spanish 250–251 Prof. Maria Robertson Justiniano mjustiniano@luc.edu 773.508.7361
Spanish 270+ Prof. Héctor García hgarci1@luc.edu 773.508.2863