Loyola University Chicago


Department of Fine and Performing Arts


Professors and Alumni Nominated for Chicago’s Jeff Awards

Professors and Alumni Nominated for Chicago’s Jeff Awards

The 2016 Equity Joseph Jefferson Awards Ceremony is taking place on Monday, October 17. Alum and adjunct professor Philip Dawkins is doubly in the running for Best New Work, with his plays Charm (Northlight Theatre) and Le Switch (About Face Theatre). Alum Bryce Gangel is in the running for Actress in a Principal Role for her role as Amy in Dry Land (Rivendell Theatre Ensemble).

Colloquially hailed as the “Chicago Tonys,” the Jeff Awards have been celebrating excellence in Chicago theatre since 1968. Ranging from technical to performance recognition, there are 38 Equity categories and 24 Non-Equity categories.

Loyola Theatre is no stranger to the Jeff Awards spotlight. Professor Rachel Anne Healy has received an Equity Costume Design win (2004), and Professor Lee Keenan has received three Lighting Design Non-Equity nominations (2009, 2012, 2012), one Lighting Design Equity nomination (2008), and one Costume Design Equity nomination (2012). Philip Dawkins is consistently recognized for Best New Work, with one Non-Equity win (2014) and two Equity nominations (2011, 2013).

Recent alums boast Non-Equity wins as well, with 2015 graduate Sarah Espinoza receiving a win for Sound Design (2015) and 2014 graduate Anna Dauzvardis receiving a win for Solo Performance (2016).