

Archives & Special Collections Cudahy Library ◆1032 W. Sheridan Rd. ◆ Chicago, Illinois 60660 p (773) 508-2661 ◆f (773) 508-2993 ◆<u>www.luc.edu/archives</u>

US-IIChLUA

UA1999.37

Loyola University Chicago Niehoff School of Nursing Records

Dates: 1942-1995, Undated Creator: Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing Extent: 0.75 linear feet Level of description: Folder level Processor & date: L. Wiacek, October 2023

Administration Information

Restrictions: No restrictions Copyright: Loyola University Chicago retains copyright of university records. Citation: Loyola University Chicago. Archives & Special Collections. Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing Records, 1942-1995. Box #, Folder #. Provenance: Transferred by the Niehoff School of Nursing to the University Archives on 18

November 1999.

Language of Materials: English

Separations: No separation

See Also: Dean, Office of the, records, 1946-1977; Dean, Office of the, records, 1965-1994; Dean, Office of the, records, 1980-1994; Sr. Helen Jarrell records, 1935-1947; Gladys Kiniery records, 1947-1966; Julia Lane records, 1964-1991; Golden Jubilee Celebration records, 1928-1985; Committee Minutes, 1965-1992

Administrative History

Authorized by the Loyola University Board of Trustees in 1935, the School of Nursing was established under a constitution which provided for the formation of a governing board composed of the directors of five affiliated hospital schools: St. Anne, St. Bernard, St. Elizabeth, Columbus, and Oak Park. In 1936, St. Francis Hospital in Evanston became the 6th hospital to affiliate with the University. Sr. Helen Jarrell, the director of St. Bernard Nursing School, who was originally appointed as Director in 1935, became the first Dean of the Loyola University School of Nursing in 1939. Her successors were: Ms. Gladys Kiniery (1947-1966), Ms. Mary Pat Lodge (1966-1969), Ms. Essie Anglum (1969-1970), Sr. Margaret Mary Maloney (1970-7194), and Dr. Julia A. Lane (1974-1991).

From 1935 to 1948, the Nursing School was an evening school, as women students were not admitted to the Lake Shore Campus day school. During this time, the School administered two degree programs – a B.S. in Nursing through the six affiliated schools and a B.S. in Nursing Education for the R.N. In 1938, a Public Health Nursing Program was established at the Medical School, and in 1941 this program was broadened and approved by the N.O.P.H.N. in order to give a B.S. in Public Health Nursing.



1942 marked the re-activation of the Loyola University Hospital Unit of the Army (General Hospital Unit 108), in which Loyola nurses served during World War II. This same year, the Nursing School received a grant from the Kellogg Foundation which made it possible to offer scholarships to eligible nursing students.

In 1948, the School of Nursing was reorganized, uniting the departments of Nursing, Nursing Education and Public Health Nursing. It now offered a basic integrated program leading to the degree of B.S. in Nursing as well as the degrees for the R.N. student.

In 1954 and 1955 respectively, the Basic Nursing Program and the General Nursing Program received full accreditation from the National League for Nursing Accrediting Service.

In 1957, the Nursing School faculty began to develop a Master's program with specialization in three areas: Medical-Surgical Nursing, Maternal-Child Health Nursing, and Psychiatric Nursing and, in 1959, financial support for the program was requested from the Kellogg Foundation. In 1963, Dr. Imogene King was given a year's leave to develop the graduate nursing program, and together with a special committee from the School of Nursing she proposed a curriculum to the Board of Graduate Studies. In September 1964, with funding from the Kellogg Foundation, the first students were accepted into the Graduate program in Nursing.

In 1966-1967, the School of Nursing moved to Damen Hall, thus marking the first time in the history of the School in which all programs were centralized in one location. In cooperation with Sealantic Funds Inc., the School of Nursing became involved with a special project which would expand and maintain the enrollment of disadvantaged students with potential for the B.S. in Nursing.

In 1979, the beneficence of Marcella Niehoff endowed the School with \$3,000,000. Because of her generosity, the Board of Trustees renamed the School the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing and established the Marcella Niehoff Professorship in Nursing. This afforded the School the opportunity to achieve national recognition in its pursuit of academic excellence.

Currently the Dean of the Niehoff School of Nursing reports to the Vice President of Academic Affairs – Health Services. As chief executive of the School of Nursing, the Dean is responsible for leadership and implementation of University-wide policies, regulations, and other professional matters established by the legislative power of the University Board of Trustees, and for maintaining professional standards of nursing established by national, state, legal and accrediting agencies.

Scope and Content

The Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing records comprise 0.75 linear feet spanning the years 1942 to 1995 and including information on Loyola administrators, news clippings, grants for technology, honors and pinning papers, student handouts, and Jesuit publications.



Archives & Special Collections Cudahy Library ◆1032 W. Sheridan Rd. ◆ Chicago, Illinois 60660 p (773) 508-2661 ◆f (773) 508-2993 ◆<u>www.luc.edu/archives</u>

US-IIChLUA

Arrangement is alphabetical and chronological.

Subjects

Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing Honors and Pinning Technology grants Ceremonies



Archives & Special Collections Cudahy Library ◆1032 W. Sheridan Rd. ◆ Chicago, Illinois 60660 p (773) 508-2661 ◆f (773) 508-2993 ◆<u>www.luc.edu/archives</u>

US-IIChLUA

Accession No.: UA1999.37 Creator: Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing

<u>Box</u>	<u>Folder</u>	Title	Dates
1	1	Annie Lawrence and Michael Reese Information	Undated
1	2	Base Hospital Unit	1942
1	3	Company Magazine	1983
1	4	Dedication to the Profession Ceremony Invitations	1993
1	5	Eleanor C. Lambertsen Presentation Invitation	Undated
1	6	Fifty Years Celebration Calendar and Flyers	1984-1985
1	7	Fuld Letters	1995
1	8	Helene Fuld Fund Grants	1981-1985
1	9	Lt. Margaret J Coghill - Army Nurse	1952
1	10	Loyola Important Figures	1980
1	11	Mary Anne Kirchschlager Letter to Juila Lane	1980
1	12	Memo to Administrators	1973
1	13	Nursing Newspaper Clippings	1974
1	14	Nursing Magazine Clippings, Niehoff School of	1983
1	15	Nursing Calendar, Niehoff School of	1985
1	16	Nursing - Honors + Pinning	1984
1	17	Nursing - Honors + Pinning	1986
1	18	Nursing Printed Photographs, Niehoff School of	Undated
1	19	Nursing Student Handouts, Niehoff School of	Undated
1	20	Nursing Written History, Niehoff School of	Undated
1	21	Sigma Theta Tau Alpha Beta Chapter Meetings	1984
1	22	Stethoscope Publications	1979
2	1	Loyola University IM Volleyball Champions Trophy	1957