Loyola University Chicago

Financial Services

Financial Planning Working Groups


Read Dr. Rooney's message on the Financial Planning Working Groups.

The Office of the President has established five University-wide working groups to advise the Budget Review Team on future directions for strategic financial planning. The planning groups will focus on a broad area of University business, studying current operations and assessing opportunities for change that would be implemented over a multi-year period. The groups will provide recommendations on opportunities to enhance revenues, contain costs, and restructure expenses in each area.

The financial planning working groups have commenced their work and will deliver recommendations before or by December 2017. 

Areas of Focus

  • Academics
  • Student Development and Academic Services
  • Human Resources and Benefits
  • Capital Assets and Facilities
  • Operational Processes

Working Groups Membership (February 2017) 

Donald Heider, PhD (Chair)
Dean, School of Communication

  • Stephen Schloesser, S.J. (History, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Lee Schmidt, PhD, RN (Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing)
  • Maria Vidal de Haymes, PhD (School of Social Work)
  • Peter Schraeder, PhD (Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Ann Marie Ryan, PhD (School of Education)
  • Pamela McCoy (Quinlan School of Business)
  • Bruce Montes (Information Technology Services)
  • Paul Voelker (University Libraries)
  • Christopher Manning, PhD (History, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • James Cheverud, PhD (Biology, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Sarah Dysart, PhD (Provost's Office)
  • Margaret Faut Callahan, CRNA, PhD, FNAP, FAAN (Provost's Office, Health Sciences Division
  • John P. Pelissero, PhD (Provost's Office)
  • Richard Hurst, PhD (Institutional Research)
  • David B. Slavsky, PhD (Office of Institutional Effectiveness and College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Paul Roberts (Enrollment Management)
  • Joanna Pappas (Provost's Office)

Student Development and Academic Services
Terri Pigott, PhD (Chair)
Dean, School of Education

  • K.C. Mmeje, EdD (Division of Student Development)
  • John Hardt, PhD (Stritch School of Medicine and Provost's Office, Health Sciences Division)
  • Jean Dolores Schmidt, BVM (Division of Student Development and Athletics)
  • Tobyn Friar (Financial Aid)
  • Erin Moriarty (Undergraduate Admission)
  • Steve Watson (Athletics)
  • Martin Gahbauer, MEd (Career Development Center)
  • Noni Gaylord-Harden, PhD (Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Lester Manzano, MEd (College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Ann Solari-Twadell, PhD (Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing)
  • David DeMarco, S.J., MD (Stritch School of Medicine)
  • James S. Prehn, S.J., EdD (President's Office)

Human Resources and Benefits
Vicki A. Keough, PhD, APRN-BC, ACNP, FAAN (Chair)
Dean, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing 

  • James Murphy, S.J. (Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Deborah Meister (Human Resources)
  • Megan Bess, JD (School of Law)
  • Bri Lauka (First and Second Year Advising)
  • Peter Norlander, PhD (Quinlan School of Business)
  • Jennifer Boyle, PhD (Arrupe College)
  • Noah Sobe, PhD (School of Education)
  • Cecilia Macias (Student Leadership Development)
  • Enikö Racz (Institute of Environmental Sustainability)
  • Malcolm Douglas (Controller's Office)
  • Barry Schatz (Oncology Institute)
  • Winifred Williams, PhD (Vice President for Human Resources and Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer)

Capital Assets and Facilities
Dawn Collins (Chair)
Director, Student Complex

  • David Prasse, PhD (Provost's Office)
  • Stephen Katsouros, S.J. (Arrupe College)
  • Fred Barnhart, JD (University Libraries)
  • Summur Roberts (Community Relations)
  • Joe Gregoire (Advancement)
  • Janet Sisler, MEd (Gannon Center for Women and Leadership)
  • Dan Vonder Heide (Information Technology Services)
  • Rus Pascual (Financial Services, Health Sciences Division)
  • Asim Gangopadhyaya, PhD (Physics, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Deb Schmidt-Rogers, MEd (Residence Life)
  • Wayne Magdziarz (Capital Planning)
  • Kana Henning (Facilities)

Operational Processes
Kevin T. Stevens (Chair)
Dean, Quinlan School of Business

  • Jim Sibenaller (Information Technology Services)
  • Dana Adams (Conference Services)
  • Brian Slavinskas (Purchasing)
  • Jennifer O'Brien (Residence Life)
  • Jamie Orsini (Advancement)
  • Annie McCormack (Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing)
  • Susan Bodin (Risk Management)
  • Thomas Murray (Campus Safety)
  • Adam Shorter (Provost's Office)
  • James Faught, JD (School of Law)
  • Gezinus Hidding, PhD (Quinlan School of Business)
  • Thomas M. Kelly (President's Office)
  • Lauren Hagan (Financial Services, Health Sciences Division)
  • Pamela G. Costas (General Counsel)

Budget Review Team (May 2017)

  • Margaret Faut Callahan, CRNA, PhD, FNAP, FAAN (Provost, Health Sciences Division)
  • Damon W. Cates, EdD (Senior Vice President for Advancement)
  • Lauren Hagan (Associate Vice President, Strategic Financial Planning, Health Sciences Division)
  • Thomas M. Kelly (Senior Vice President for Administrative Services)
  • Wayne Magdziarz (Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer/Chief Business Officer)
  • John P. Pelissero, PhD (Provost and Chief Academic Officer)
  • Joan Phillips, PhD (Quinlan School of Business)
  • James S. Prehn, S.J., EdD (Vice President and Special Advisor to the President for Mission and Identity)
  • Jo Ann Rooney, JD, LLM, EdD (President)
  • Ben Smigielski (Associate Vice President for Strategic Financial Planning)
  • Winifred Williams, PhD (Vice President for Human Resources and Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer)

For questions related to the groups’ work, or to provide feedback on any of the financial planning areas, please contact the chairs listed above.