Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Institute of Environmental Sustainability

Faculty & Staff

Organizational Chart 

Loyola's Institute of Environmental Sustainability (IES) provides students with the technical skills and experience to become innovative leaders in environmental research, policy, sustainability, and stewardship.

IES also strives to bring scientists, social scientists, engineers, policy makers, and government, community, and industry leaders together to share knowledge and develop real-world solutions to environmental problems. These are the folks who help make that happen.

Institute of Environmental Sustainability Administrative Team

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Nancy Tuchman, PhD Founding Director, Institute of Environmental Sustainability BVM Hall 307 773.508.2475
ntuchma@luc.edu
David B. Slavsky, PhD Associate Director, Institute of Environmental Sustainability
Director, Loyola Core Curriculum Associate Professor, Department of Physics
BVM Hall 310 773.508.8352
dslavsk@luc.edu
Christopher G. Peterson, PhD Academic Program Director and Professor
Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology
BVM Hall 316 773.508.2950
cpeters@luc.edu
Aaron N. Durnbaugh Director of Sustainability BVM Hall 209 773-508-7558
adurnbaugh@luc.edu
Enikö Rácz Business Manager BVM Hall 309 773-508-2142
eracz@luc.edu
Christine Wolff Office Coordinator
IJEP Project Coordinator
BVM Hall 311 773-508-2141
cwolff1@luc.edu
Rachel Leamon Executive Assistant BVM 308 773-508-8934
rleamon@luc.edu

IES Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
V. Bala Chaudhary, PhD Lecturer BVM Hall 403 773.508.3615
vchaudhary@luc.edu
JoBeth D'Agostino, PhD Associate Professor
Associate Provost for Curriculum Development
Burrowes 209 773.508.7063
jdagost@luc.edu
Kelly Garbach, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 424 773.508.2948
kgarbach@luc.edu
Tham C. Hoang, PhD Assistant Professor, Ecotoxicologist BVM Hall 314 773.508.8194
thoang@luc.edu
Ping Jing, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 423 773.508.7560
pjing@luc.edu
Reuben P. Keller, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 401 773.508.2952
rkeller1@luc.edu
Dr. Roberta Lammers-Campbell, PhD Director of Academic Programs and Ecological Restoration at Loyola’s Retreat and Ecology Campus (LUREC) LSB 241 773-508-3651 (LSC); 815-338-1032 (LUREC)
rlammer@luc.edu
Nancy Landrum, Ph.D. Professor BVM 315 773-508-8953
nlandrum@luc.edu
Shane Lishawa, BS, MS Research Associate slishawa@luc.edu
Rev. Stephen Mitten, S.J. Ecology Faculty and Spiritual Director BVM Hall 313; LUREC 773-508-8241
smittensj@luc.edu
Brian Ohsowski Instructor BVM 211 773-508-8920
bohsowski@luc.edu
Tania M. Schusler, PhD Lecturer and Solutions to Environmental Problems (STEP) Coordinator BVM Hall 425 773.508.8954
tschusler@luc.edu

Part Time Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Melissa Cogan, PhD Instructor BVM Hall 214 773-508-8922
mcogan@luc.edu
Richard DiMaio Instructor BVM Hall 214 773-508-8923
rdimaio@luc.edu
Barbara L. Haas, PhD Instructor, Department of Biology bhaas@luc.edu
Kelly Ksiazek Instructor BVM 214 773-508-8923
kksiazek1@luc.edu
David Sargent Instructor BVM 313 773-508-8935
dsargent@luc.edu

IES Staff Members

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Kevin Erickson Urban Agriculture Coordinator BVM Hall 222 773-508-8925
kerickson2@luc.edu
Josette N. Krusinski Administrative Assistant BVM Hall 312 773.508.2945
jkrusinski@luc.edu
Gina Lettiere Sustainability Specialist BVM Hall 210 773-508-8255
glettie@luc.edu
Hanh Pham Compost Coordinator BVM Hall 212 773-508-8280
hpham5@luc.edu
David J. Treering Geographic Information Systems Specialist BVM Hall 213 773-508-8254
dgoldb2@luc.edu
Zach Waickman, MBA Biodiesel Lab Manager IES 109 773-508-8852
zwaickm@luc.edu

Affiliated Faculty

NameTitleOfficePhone and Email
Daniel S. Amick, PhD Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology Coffey Hall 405 773.508.3446 
damick@luc.edu
Raymond Benton Professor Maguire 440 312.915.6137 
rbenton@LUC.edu
Martin B. Berg, PhD Professor, Department of Biology 
Aquatic Ecologist
  773.508.8853 
mberg@luc.edu
Louis Cain Professor, Quinlan School of Business Maguire 538 312.915.6075 
lcain@luc.edu
James M. Calcagno, PhD Professor, Department of Anthropology 
Director, Loyola Fellowship Office
Coffey Hall 401 773.508.3472 
jcalcag@luc.edu
Domenic Castignetti, PhD Professor, Department of Biology   773.508.3638 
dcastig@luc.edu
M. Paul Chiarelli, PhD Professor, Department of Chemistry   773.508.3106 
mchiare@luc.edu
 Elizabeth Coffman, PhD Associate Professor of Communications
Documentary Studies, Environmental Advocacy,
Media Outreach
 

312.915.6716
ecoffma@luc.edu

Alanah Fitch, PhD Professor, Department of Chemistry   773.508.3119 
afitch@luc.edu
William C. French, PhD Associate Professor, Theology   773-508-2356 
wfrench@luc.edu
John P. Frendreis Professor, Department of Political Science   773.508.3054 
jfrendr@luc.edu
Robert W. Hamilton, PhD Professor, Department of Biology   773.508.3628 
rhamilt@luc.edu
Timothy Hoellein Assistant Professor 
Aquatic Ecologist
  773.508.8859 
thoellein@luc.edu
Theodore Karamanski, PhD Professor, Department of History 
Public History Graduate Director
Crown Center 517 773.508.2684 
tkarama@luc.edu
John J. Kelly Professor, Department of Biology   773.508.7097 
jkelly7@luc.edu
Konstantin Läufer Professor and Chairperson of Computer Science LT-531A 312.915.7983 
laufer@cs.luc.edu
O'Brien, Timothy Graduate Program Director (Statistics) 
Professor
Loyola Hall 312 773-508-2129 
tobrie1@luc.edu
Mark A. Pollock, PhD Associate Professor, School of Communication 
Program Director, Communication Studies
Lewis Towers 907 312.915.6912 
mpolloc@luc.edu
Martina Schmeling, Ph.D. Associate Professor Flanner Hall 408 773.508.3124 
mschmel@luc.edu


Loyola

Institute of Environmental Sustainability
Loyola University Chicago · 1032 W. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60660 · Phone: 773-508-2130 · IES@luc.edu

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy