Loyola University Chicago

Department of Psychology

Psi Chi

 

The International Honor Society in Psychology Chapter at Loyola University Chicago

Psi Chi is the International Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.

Membership in the Loyola Chapter of Psi Chi is open to undergraduate men and women who are making the study of psychology one of their major interests, and who meet the membership requirements (see below.) Psi Chi is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the American Psychological Society (APS).

Psi Chi's sister honor society is Psi Beta, the national honor society in psychology for community and junior colleges. [From the Official Psi Chi website.]

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Haden, chaden@luc.edu

2016–2017 Executive Officers
President Anum Afzal aafzal@luc.edu
Vice President Lauren Buchner lbuchner@luc.edu
Secretary Ildize Kola ikola@luc.edu 
Event Planner Danah Atassi datassi@luc.edu
Treasurer Meenaj Kabir mkabir@luc.edu
Faculty Advisor Dr. Catherine Haden chaden@luc.edu

Membership

Benefits of Membership. Psi Chi provides national academic recognition for academic excellence in psychology, an honor which can be noted on employment applications, vitae, and resumes. Also, as part of lifetime membership, members receive membership certificates and honor cords which can be worn at graduation. Please visit http://www.psichi.org/?page=member_benefits to learn more about the benefits of membership.

Lifetime Membership. Membership is Psi Chi is for life, requiring only an initial $90, which includes national dues of $55, honor cords of $17, and chapter dues and expenses, including the Psi Chi Induction Ceremony. There are no annual dues. Checks for dues should be made out to Psi Chi.

Awards and Grants. Over $300,000 available annually in awards in grants for student members, faculty advisors, and chapters. Information about undergraduate funding opportunities can be found at http://www.psichi.org/?page=1_undergrad_main

Membership Requirements

  • A major or minor in psychology
  • Completion of at least 3 semesters of coursework (Spring 2017 semester does not count)
  • Completion of at least 9 credit hours (3 courses) of psychology (at least 6 semester credit hours at Loyola, not including courses in progress in Spring 2017)
  • Overall grade-point average at or above 3.6 in all courses
  • Grade-point average of at least 3.5 in psychology courses taken at Loyola

The deadline for submission of applications is noon, Friday, February 10, 2017.  The Psi Chi application can be downloaded here: Psi Chi Application

Please submit your application in hard copy at the Psychology Department office, attention Dr. Catherine Haden, Psi Chi Faculty Advisor. No online applications will be accepted.

Applications will be reviewed by February 20, 2017, and students will be informed of their status by this date. The induction ceremony for new members will be held at the end of the Spring semester during Weekend of Excellence.

Links

Here are some useful psychology links for students.