Loyola University Chicago

Department of Political Science

Current PhD Students

  • Muhammed Ali Asil (1st year) masil@luc.edu
  • Ça─člayan Çetin (3rd ear) ccetin@luc.edu
  • Kirstie Dobbs (2nd year) kdobbs@luc.edu
  • Jacob Hartman (2nd year) jhartman2@luc.edu
  • Timothy Hazen (PhD Candidate) thazen@luc.edu
    • Dissertation Title: "Defend or Defect: How Security Apparatuses Explain Military Behavior during the Arab Spring"
  • Ratri Istania (2nd year) ristania@luc.edu (World Bank Fellowship)
  • Toussaint Kafarhire Murhula (PhD Candidate) kmurhula@luc.edu
    • Dissertation Title: "US Africa HIV/AIDS Foreign Policy: The Role of Pharmaceutical Companies in the Making of the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) 2003–2008"
  • Mary Frances Lebamoff (PhD Candidate) mlebamo@luc.edu
    • Dissertation Title: "Learning from the United Nations Preventive Deployment Mission in Macedonia: Nothing Fails Like Success?"
  • Kimberly Loontjer (3rd year) kloontjer@luc.edu
  • Aaron Martin (3rd year) amartin16@luc.edu
  • Christopher Martinez (PhD Candidate) cmartinez2@luc.edu (Fulbright Scholar) (Website)
    • Dissertation Title: "Surviving the Presidency: Presidential Failures in South America"
  • Sara McKeever (coursework completed) smckeever@luc.edu
  • Jessica Mecellem (PhD Candidate) jmecellem@luc.edu (Website‌)
    • Dissertation Title: "Disappearances in Algeria, Lebanon and Turkey"
  • Eric Morse (coursework completed) emorse@luc.edu
  • Paul Olander (1st year) polander1@luc.edu
  • Mamy Randriamanantena (1st year) mrandriamanantena@luc.edu
  • Michael Schumacher (1st year) mschumacher2@luc.edu
  • Samantha Seaman (2nd year) sseaman@luc.edu
  • Scott Siebert (2nd year) ssiebert@luc.edu
  • Paul Tang Abomo (coursework completed) ptangabomo@luc.edu
  • Nelson Wainwright (PhD Candidate) nwainwr@luc.edu
    • Dissertation Title: "Elite Framing of Political Communication and Support for the European Union in Central and Eastern Europe"
  • Andrea Walker (coursework completed) awalker3@luc.edu
  • Dane Wendell (PhD Candidate) dwendell@luc.edu(Dan Searle Fellow, Institute for Human Studies)
    • Dissertation Title: "Neural Correlates of Political Attitudes: Emotion and Ideology in the Brain"