Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Department of Philosophy

Current Graduate Students

Christopher Anderson
Program: PhD
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy, American Philosophy, and Critical Theory.

David Atenasio
Program: PhD
Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory

Sarah Babbitt
Program: PhD

Interests: Ethics, Moral Epistemology, Virtue Theory, Feminist Theory, and Narrative
Email: sbabbitt@luc.edu

Edin Barrera
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Asaf Bar-Tura
Program: PhD
Interests: Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Technology, and Habermas
e-mail: abartura@luc.edu
www.asafbartura.com

Philip Bauchan
Program: PhD
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy, and Ethics

Nathan Berthiaume
Program: PhD
Interests: Kant, Nietzsche, and Ethic

Allan Breedlove
Program: PhD
Interests: Social-Political, Ethics, Critical Theory, Hermeneutics, Integral Psychology
e-mail: abreedlove@luc.edu

Thomas Bretz
Program: PhD
Interests: Environmental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Feminist Theory, and Derrida
e-mail: tbretz@luc.edu

David Bukenhofer
Program: PhD
Interests: Philosophy of Religion and Epistemology
e-mail: dbukenhofer@luc.edu

Corbin Casarez
Program: PhD
Interests: 20th Century Philosophy, Kant, Hegel, Philosophy of Language, and Theory of Value
e-mail: ccasarez@luc.edu
http://luc.academia.edu/CorbinCasarez

Tim Casey
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Xin Chen
Program: PhD

Jean Clifford
Program: MA

Cameron Coates
Program: PhD
Interests: Ancient Philosophy and Phenomenology
e-mail: ccoates@luc.edu

Anthony Cooper
Program: MA
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy, Adam Smith
e-mail: acoop13@gmail.com

Aaron Crowe
Program: PhD

LaChanda Davis
Program: PhD
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Aesthetics, and Ethics
e-mail: ldavis2@luc.edu

Jason Downer
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Robert Duncan
Program: PhD
Interests: Virtue Theory, Metaethics, Aristotle

James Erler
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Randi Feder
Program: MA
Interests: Philosophy and Religion, Spinoza, and Maimonides
e-mail: randi.4@comcast.net 
JD, Georgetown University Law Center

Jacob Golembiewski
Program: MA

Marcos Gonzales
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Kristina Grob
Program: PhD
Interests: Ethics, Literature and Philosophy, and Feminist Theory
e-mail: kgrob@luc.edu

Anthony Gudwein
Program: MA

Daniel Gustafson
Program: MA
Jesuit student

Michael Gutierrez
Program: PhD
Interests: Continental Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, Aesthetics
e-mail: mgutierrez1@luc.edu
www.flavors.me/mgutierrez123

Eric Immel
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Ashley Karcher
Program: MA

Interests: Philosophy of Education, American Pragmatism, Post-structuralism, Feminist Theory
e-mail: akarcher@luc.edu

Mariam Kennedy
Program: MA
Interests: Action Theory, Agency Issues, and Political Philosophy
e-mail: mkennedy11@luc.edu

Keith Kenyon
Program: PhD

Andy Kondrat
Program: PhD
Interests: Health care Ethics
e-mail: akondrat@luc.edu

Susan Koop-Vander Nat
Program: PhD
Interests: Medieval Scholasticism, Medieval metaphysics


Jack Krouse
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Maria Kulp
Program: PhD
Interests: Bioethics, Phenomenology, and Ethics
e-mail: mkulp1983@gmail.com

Maggie Labinski
Program: PhD
MA - Philosophy, Boston College
Interests: Medieval Philosophy, Phenomenology

Michael Lamanna
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Paul Leisen
Program: PhD
Interests:Continental, Social/Political, Aesthetics, Phenomology of Theatre

Joseph Linn
Program: PhD

San Mai
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Daniele Manni
Program: Ph.D.
Interests: Platonic Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, Twentieth Century Continental Philosophy, especially Phenomenology and Hermeneutics.
e-mail: dmanni@luc.edu

Mary Kay Matzen
Program: PhD

Michael McGettigan
Program: Ph

Clinton Neptune
Program: PhD
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Metaethics
e-mail: cneptune@luc.edu

Russell Newstadt
Program: PhD
Interests: problem of predication  as it is variously formulated in the medieval tradition, from Boethius through Ockham, and how it is taken up, directly, but mostly indirectly, in Hegel, Husserl, Heidegger and the phenomenological tradition.

Martin Ngo
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Stephen Nicholson
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Justin Nordin
Program: PhD
Interests: Plato, Nietzsche, Metaphysics, and Phenomenology
e-mail: jpn144@gmail.com

Ndidi Nwaneri
Program: PhD

Interests: Critical Race Theory, Global Justice, Phenomenology, Feminist Ethics, Environmental Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy
e-mail: nnwaneri@luc.edu

Peter Omollo
Program: PhD

Kyoungnam Park
Program: PhD

Joshua Peters
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Sean Petranovich
Program: PhD
Interests: Phenomenology, Space, and Social/Political Philosophy
e-mail: spetranovich@luc.edu

Merritt Rehn-DeBraal
Program: PhD
Interests: Feminist Philosophy, Foucault
e-mail: mfoy1@luc.edu

Amelia Rhys
Program: PhD

Roni Rae Rivera
Program: PhD
Interests: Social Philosophy and Feminist Theory
e-mail: Rriver4@luc.edu


Nicoletta Ruane

Program: PhD
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Economics, 19th Century German Thought

Juan Ruiz
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Marcella Russo 
Program: PhD
Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, and Philosophy of Language
e-mail: mvrusso87@gmail.com

Richard Schuckman
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Rebecca Scott
Program: PhD

Srujesh Shah
Program: MA in Social Philosophy
Interests: Social and Political Philosophy
e-mail: sshah32@luc.edu

Joel Stenftenagel
Program: MA

Courtney Stewart
Program: PhD 

Jason Stigliano
Program: PhD

Jeffrey Sullivan
Program: MA
Jesuit Student

Giancarlo Tarantino
AGSP President
Program: PhD
Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Hermeneutics
e-mail: gtarantino@luc.edu
http://luc.academia.edu/carlotarantino

Drew Thompson
Program: PHD
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy and Ethics

Robert Thurnhoffer
Program: MA

Romina Vintila
Program: MA
Interests: Quantum Physics, Consciousness, and Ethical Philosophy

Douglas Walters
Program: PhD
Interests: Social/Political Philosophy, Ethics, and Contemporary European Philosophy.
e-mail: dw5671@gmail.com

For contact information regarding any Graduate students, please contact Graduate Programs Assistant Lauren Dennis at ldennis2@luc.edu.



Loyola

Loyola University Chicago · Crown Center, 3rd Floor · 1032 West Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60660
Phone: 773.508.2291 · Fax: 773.508.2292 · E-mail: Philosophy secretary

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy