About Us


The leadership of the Midwest Modern Language Association comprises an administrative component and an executive committee.

Administrative Component

The administrative leadership of the MMLA consists of an Executive Director and an Associate Director. In addition, the MMLA has one part-time graduate assistant who serves as the Editorial and Program Assistant during the academic year (August to May). The MMLA also has a part-time program coodinator who is responsible for business and administrative duties related to the annual conference and journal publication. The MMLA headquarters are located at Loyola University Chicago in Chicago, Illinois. The administrative staff includes:

  • David Posner, Executive Director
  • Ryan Peters, Program Assistant
  • Linda Winnard, MMLA Program Coordinator

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for the administration of the association, determines all policies of the association and approves the association's annual budget. In addition, the Committee serves as the editorial board for the Journal of the MMLA. For a more detailed description of the duties and election procedures of the Committee, please see the bylaws of the association. Members of the executive committee serve three-year terms beginning immediately after the annual meeting at which their election is announced. Two new members are elected each year.

For 2014, the Executive Committee comprises the following individuals:

Name PositionSchoolTerm Ending
Andrea Kaston Tange President Eastern Michigan University  
Hillary Nunn Vice President University of Akron  
Samuel S. Cohen Past-President & Treasurer; JMMLA Editor University of Missouri-Columbia  
Rachel Greenwald Smith JMMLA Editor & Executive Committee Saint Louis University  
David Posner Executive Director Loyola University Chicago  
Jason Arthur Executive Committee Rockhurst University  
Arline Cravens Executive Committee Saint Louis University  
Andrea Knutson Executive Committee Oakland University  
Emily Lutenski Executive Committee Saint Louis University