Loyola University Chicago

The Graduate School

Key Dates and Deadlines

Fall 2016
August 1 Monday Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for December 2016 degree conferral
August 15  Monday
August 22 Monday New graduate assistant workshop
August 23 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
August 28 Sunday Open registration ends at midnight
August 29 Monday
  • Fall Semester 2016 begins
  • Begin late and change registration
  • Late registration fees apply
September 2 Friday Labor Day Weekend begins. Classes that begin at 4:15 p.m. or later are canceled.
September 5 Monday Labor Day: No class
September 6 Tuesday Classes resume after Labor Day Weekend
September 9  Friday Incomplete grades from Spring 2016 due at the Graduate School
September 11 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 12 Monday
  • Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
  • Last day to request or cancel pass/fail option
September 25 Sunday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 50% refund
October 1 Saturday Last day to submit dissertation or thesis for the required format check for December degree conferral
October 2 Sunday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 20% refund (zero credit hereafter)
October 10-11 Mon-Tue Mid-semester Break: No classes
October 12 Wednesday Classes resume after Mid-semester Break
October 21 Friday Last day to apply to take the foreign language examination to fulfill the research tool requirements
November 1 Tuesday Last day to submit final approved electronic copies of dissertation or thesis for December degree conferral
November 3 Thursday Spring 2017 Registration begins
November 4 Friday
  • Last day to withdraw with a grade of "W"-- after this date, the penalty grade of "WF" is assigned
  • Foreign language examination, 3:00-5:00 p.m., Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
November 23-26 Wed-Sat Thanksgiving Break: No classes
November 28 Monday Classes resume after Thanksgiving Break
December 1 Thursday
December 10 Saturday Fall Semester classes end
December 12-17 Mon-Sat Final Examinations (No exams on Sunday) Note: Wednesday is a study day. No daytime exams will be held.
December 15 Thursday

 

 

Spring 2017
January 15 Sunday Open Registration Ends
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday – No Classes
January 17 Tuesday
  •  Spring semester 2017 begins
  • Late and change registration begins
  • Late registration fees apply
January 23 Monday
  • Late and change registration ends 
  • Last day to withdraw without a mark of  "W"
January 27 Friday Incomplete grades from Summer due at the Graduate School
January 30 Monday
  •  Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
  • Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 Wednesday Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for August 2017 degree conferral  
February 13 Monday
  • Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
  • Summer Registration Begins for all Undergraduate and Graduate students - check LOCUS for  details
February 15 Wednesday Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for August degree conferral ($25 late fee applies)
February 20 Monday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of  20% (zero credit thereafter)
March 1 Wednesday
  •  Last day to submit thesis or dissertation for a format check for May degree conferral
  • Ash Wednesday: Classes meet but special worship services available 
March 3 Friday Last day to apply to take the foreign language examination to fulfill the research tool requirement
March 6-11 Monday-Saturday Spring Break
March 13 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 27 Monday Last day (5:00 p.m.) to withdraw with a grade of "W."  After this date, the penalty grade of "WF" is assigned
March 30 Thursday Fall registration begins
March 31 Friday Foreign language examination, 3 p.m.—5:00 p.m., Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
April 1 Saturday
  • Latest approval date for thesis proposal defense ballots for participation (walking, not graduating) in May 2017 commencement and graduating in August 2017
  • Last day to submit final approved copies of dissertation or thesis for May degree conferral (All other degree requirements MUST be met by this date, unless you are a master's student completing your final classes. In that case, your final degree requirement date is the last date of finals.)
April 13-17 Thursday-Monday Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (classes that start 4:15 p.m. or later are cancelled) through Monday afternoon (classes beginning on or after 4:15 p.m. will be held) 
April 28 Friday
  • Spring Semester Ends
  • For August degree conferrals: Dissertation defense ballots are due to the Graduate School by noon to walk in May  Commencement Ceremony
May 1-6 Monday-Saturday Final Exams, no exams on Sunday
May 9 Tuesday Commencement Ceremony at 3:00 pm, Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus