Loyola University Chicago

The Graduate School

Key Dates and Deadlines

Spring 2016
January 17 Sunday Open registration ends
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday – No Classes
January 19 Tuesday
  • Spring semester 2016 begins
  • Late and change registration begins
  • Late registration fees apply
January 25 Monday
  • Late and change registration ends 
  • Last day to withdraw without a mark of  "W"
January 29 Friday Incomplete grades from Summer 2015 due at the Graduate School
February 1   Monday
  • Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
  • Last day to apply for August degree conferral
  • Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 10 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Classes meet but special worship services available
February 15 Monday
  • Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
  • Summer 2016 Registration Begins for all Undergraduate and Graduate students - check LOCUS for  details
  • Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for August 2016 degree conferral.
    • $25 late fee applies
February 22 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of  20% (zero credit thereafter)
March 1 Tuesday Last day to submit thesis or dissertation for a format check for May 2016 degree conferral
March 7-12 Mon - Sat Spring Break
March 14 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 24-28 Thurs-Mon
  • Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (classes that start 4:15 p.m. or later are cancelled) through Monday afternoon (classes beginning on or after 4:15 p.m. will be held) 
  • Offices closed on Good Friday
March 29 Tuesday Last day (5:00 p.m.) to withdraw with a grade of "W."  After this date, the penalty grade of "WF" is assigned
April 1 Friday
  • Last day to submit final approved electronic copies of dissertation or thesis for May degree conferral
  • For students in programs requiring a dissertation or thesis, all degree requirements MUST be met by this date unless a master’s student is completing classes for May degree conferral
  • Latest approval date for thesis proposal defense ballots for participation (walking, not graduating) in May 2016 commencement and graduating in August 2016
  • Foreign language examination, 3 p.m.—5:00 p.m., Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
April 14 Thursday Fall 2016 registration begins
April 15 Friday Last day to submit final approved hard copies of dissertations for or theses for May degree conferral
April 29 Friday Spring Semester Ends
April 29 Friday
  • For August degree conferrals: Dissertation defense ballots are due to the Graduate School by noon to walk in May 2016 Commencement Ceremony
  • Study Day: No examinations
May 2 - May 7 Mon - Sat Final Exams, no exams on Sunday
May 10 Tuesday
May 18   Summer session begins
Summer 2016
Special Summer Dates: (See the University Summer Sessions Academic Calendar for session dates and deadlines)
May 30 Monday Memorial Day Observed, Office Closed
May 31 Tuesday Incomplete grades from Fall 2015 due at the Graduate School
June 1 Wednesday Last day to submit thesis or dissertations for a format check for August degree conferral
July 1 Friday Last day to submit final approved electronic copies of dissertation for August degree conferral
July 4 Monday Independence Day Observed, Office Closed
July 15 Friday Last day to submit final approved hard copies of dissertation for August degree conferral
August 1 Monday Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for December 2016 degree conferral
August 15 Monday
  • Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for December 2016 degree conferral
  • $25 late fee applies
August 22 Monday New graduate assistant workshop
August 23 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
August 29 Monday
  • Fall Semester 2016 Begins
  • Begin late and change registration
  • Late registration fees apply
Fall 2016
August 1 Monday Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for December 2016 degree conferral
August 15  Monday
  • Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for December 2016 degree conferral
  • $25 late fee applies
August 22 Monday New graduate assistant workshop
August 23 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
August 28 Sunday Open registration ends at midnight
August 29 Monday
  • Fall Semester 2016 begins
  • Begin late and change registration
  • Late registration fees apply
September 2 Friday Labor Day Weekend begins. Classes that begin at 4:15 p.m. or later are canceled.
September 5 Monday Labor Day: No class
September 6 Tuesday Classes resume after Labor Day Weekend
September 9  Friday Incomplete grades from Spring 2016 due at the Graduate School
September 11 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 12 Monday
  • Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
  • Last day to request or cancel pass/fail option
September 25 Sunday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 50% refund
October 1 Saturday Last day to submit dissertation or thesis for the required format check for December degree conferral
October 2 Sunday Last day to withdraw from classes with a 20% refund (zero credit hereafter)
October 10-11 Mon-Tue Mid-semester Break: No classes
October 12 Wednesday Classes resume after Mid-semester Break
October 21 Friday Last day to apply to take the foreign language examination to fulfill the research tool requirements
November 1 Tuesday Last day to submit final approved electronic copies of dissertation or thesis for December degree conferral
November 4 Friday
  • Last day to withdraw with a grade of "W"-- after this date, the penalty grade of "WF" is assigned
  • Foreign language examination, 3:00-5:00 p.m., Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
November 7 Monday Spring 2017 Registration begins
November 15 Tuesday Last day to submit final approved hard copies of dissertation or thesis for December degree conferral
November 23-26 Wed-Sat Thanksgiving Break: No classes
November 28 Monday Classes resume after Thanksgiving Break
December 1 Thursday
  • Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for May 2017 degree conferral
  • Extension of time requests for Spring 2017 due at the Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
December 10 Saturday Fall Semester classes end
December 12-17 Mon-Sat

Final Examinations (No exams on Sunday) Note: Wednesday is a study day. No daytime exams will be held.

December 15 Thursday
  • Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for May 2017 degree conferral
  • $25 late fee applies