Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

The Graduate School

Key Dates and Deadlines

Spring 2015
Summer 2015

Spring 2015
January 11 Sunday Open registration ends
January 12 Monday -- Spring semester 2015 begins
-- Late and change registration begins
-- Late registration fees apply
January 19 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday – No Classes
January 20 Tuesday -- Late and change registration ends 
-- Last day to withdraw without a mark of  "W"
January 23 Friday Incomplete grades from Summer 2014 due at the Graduate School
January 25 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
January 26 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1   Sunday Last day to apply for August degree conferral
February 8 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
February 9 Monday Summer 2015 Registration Begins for all Undergraduate and Graduate students - check LOCUS for  details
February 11 Wednesday Nominations for the Crown Fellowship Due at the Graduate School
February 13 Friday -- Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for August 2015 degree conferral
-- $25 late fee applies
February 15 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of  20% (zero credit thereafter)
February 18 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Classes meet but special worship services available
March 1 Sunday Last day to submit thesis or dissertation for a format check for May 2015 degree conferral
March 2-7  Monday - Saturday Spring Break
March 9 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 23 Monday Last day (5:00 p.m.) to withdraw with a grade of "W."  After this date, the penalty grade of "WF" is assigned
April 1 Wednesday -- Last day to submit final approved electronic copies of dissertation or thesis for May degree conferral
-- For students in programs requiring a dissertation or thesis, all degree requirements MUST be met by this date for May degree conferral unless a master’s student is completing classes
-- Latest approval date for master's thesis proposal defense ballots for participation (walking, not graduating) in May 2015 commencement
-- Foreign language examination, 3 p.m.—5:00 p.m., Graduate School Office, Granada Center, 4th floor, LSC
April 2-6    -- Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (classes that start 4:15 p.m. or later are cancelled) through Monday afternoon (classes beginning on or after 4:15 p.m. will be held) 
-- Offices closed on Good Friday
April 9 Thursday Fall registration begins for Graduate School students. Check LOCUS for details
April 15 Wednesday Last day to submit final approved hard copies of dissertations for or theses for May degree conferral
April 24 Friday Spring Semester Ends
April 27 - May 5   Final Exams, no exams on Sunday
April 30  Thursday -- Doctoral dissertation defense ballots due to Graduate School by noon to walk in May 2015 Commencement Ceremony
-- Study Day:  No examinations
May 5   -- Graduate School Commencement Ceremony at Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus
-- Schedule and detailed info on the ceremony
May 18 - August 24   Summer Sessions
Summer 2015
See the University Summer Sessions Academic Calendar for session dates and deadlines                  
May 25 Monday Memorial Day Observed, Office Closed
May 31 Sunday Incomplete grades from Fall 2014 due at the Graduate School
June 1 Monday Last day to submit thesis or dissertations for a format check for August degree conferral
July 1 Wednesday Last day to submit final approved copies of dissertation for August degree conferral
July 3 Friday Independence Day Observed, Office Closed
August 1 Saturday Last day to file an Application to Receive a Degree for December 2015 degree conferral 
August 15 Saturday -- Last day to file a Late Application to Receive a Degree for December 2015 degree conferral
-- $25 late fee applies
August 17 Monday New graduate assistantship workshop
August 18 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
August 24 Monday -- Fall Semester 2015 Begins
-- Begin late and change registration
-- Late registration fees apply

Loyola

1032 W. Sheridan Rd. · Chicago, IL 60660
773.508.3396 · gradschool@luc.edu

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy