Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

First-Year Experience

LUC History

Loyola University Chicago was founded in 1870 as the St. Ignatius College on Chicago's West Side. Currently, St. Ignatius College Prep stands in that original location. In 1908 the School of Law was established as the first of the professional programs. St Ignatius College changed its name to Loyola University in 1909, while also adding the Stritch School of Medicine. The year 1923 saw the affiliation of the Chicago College of Dental Surgery with Loyola University, later to be known as Loyola University School of Dentistry. This school is no longer open.

In 1934 West Baden College affiliated itself with Loyola University, later to be known as the Bellarmine School of Theology, then the Jesuit School of Theology in Chicago. Loyola University established the Loyola University Chicago School of Nursing in 1935, the first fully accredited collegiate school of nursing in the state of Illinois. Loyola then opened the Rome Center for Liberal Arts in 1962, the first American university sponsored program in Rome. In 1969, the Loyola University Chicago School of Education was established and the Loyola University Medical Center was opened in Maywood. In 1979 the School of Nursing was renamed the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing. The most recent expansion was the 1991 acquisition of neighboring Mundelein College from the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary.


Loyola University Chicago is a Jesuit Catholic university where ethical and spiritual values are central. These values are expressive of human wisdom, informed by the traditions of American higher education, and animated by the contemporary ideals of the Society of Jesus. With its nine schools and colleges and nationally-ranked Medical Center, Loyola is diverse, welcoming students and patients, faculty and staff from numerous nations and neighborhoods, religious backgrounds and ethnic traditions.

The Jesuit tradition of education has a distinguished history spanning five centuries. Loyola University Chicago is one of 28 Jesuit universities and colleges in the United States. The following are the five characteristics that explain the Jesuit method of education which is the foundation for the entire experience of teaching and learning at Loyola University Chicago.


The Office of First Year Experience · 255 Sullivan Center 1032 West Sheridan Road, Chicago IL 60660
Phone: 773.508.7381 · Website: www.luc.edu/firstyearexperience

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy