Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Academic Calendar (Graduate)

To view a list of important undergraduate dates by semester, go to Academic Calendars & Schedules.

Fall Semester
2018 2017    
August 1 (Wednesday) August 1 Tuesday - Last day to submit graduation applications for December degree conferral
- Last day to submit applications for comprehensives for Fall
tba August 23 Wednesday New graduate student Fall Convocation - 2017 RSVP
August 26 (midnight) August 27
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
August 27 August 28 Monday - Fall semester begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
August 31 September 1
Friday Labor Day weekend begins
Classes that begin after 4:00 p.m. are canceled
September 3 September 4
Monday Labor Day; Offices closed
September 4 September 5
Tuesday - Late and change registration ends
- Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
TBD September 10 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 12 September 11 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
TBD September 24 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
October 1 (Monday) October 1 Sunday - LAST DAY to submit application for next academic year TLLSC internship (Forms: Teacher Preparation)
- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for format check for December graduation.
TBD October 1
Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
October 8-9 October 9-10
Mon & Tues Fall Break: No classes
November 1 (Thursday) November 1 Wednesday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for December  graduation
November 1 November 2
Thursday  Registration for Spring semester begins at 1:00 p.m.
November 2 November 3
Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" 
November 21-25 November 22-26 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving Break; No classes
Offices closed Thursday and Friday
December 1 (Saturday) December 1  Friday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for May degree conferral. (Graduation applications for August degree conferral will be February 1.)
- LAST DAY to submit applications for comprehensives for Spring. 2018 (proctored exams for Master's - Feb. 17)
December 8 December 9
Saturday Fall semester classes end
December 10-15 December 11-16 Mon-Sat Final examinations
Spring Semester
2019 2018    
Janurary 13 (midnight) January 14
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
January 21 January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday; No classes
January 14 (Monday) January 16 Tuesday - Spring semester begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
January 22 (Tuesday) January 22 Monday Late and change registration ends
Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
tba tba Monday - Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
- Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 (Friday) February 1 Thursday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for August degree conferral.
tba tba Monday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
February 11 February 12 Monday Summer registration begins at 9:00 a.m.
March 6 February 14 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Special services available
February 16 February 17 Saturday Master's proctored comprehensive exams
tba tba Monday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
March 1 (Friday) March 1 Thursday

- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertation for format check for May graduation.

March 4-9 March 5-10
Mon-Sat Spring Break: No classes
March 11 March 12 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 25 March 26 Monday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
April 1 (Monday) April 1 Sunday  LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for May graduation
April 4 April 5
Thursday Registration for Fall semester begins at 1:00 p.m.
April 18-22 March 29 - April 2
Thurs-Mon Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) through Monday afternoon (prior to 4:00 p.m.).

Offices closed Good Friday
April 26 April 27 Friday Spring semester classes end
May 1 (Wednesday) May 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit dissertation for format check for August degree conferral.
April 29-May 4 April 30-May 5
Mon- Sat Final examinations
May 7-11 May 8-13
tba Commencement Ceremony at the Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus (detailed info on the ceremony will be posted early March);
Ph.D. & M.A. degrees are conferred at the Graduate School's ceremony.
Summer Semesters
2018 2017    
May 21 May 22 Monday Classes for Summer A semester begin
tba May 23 Tuesday

- Last day to drop class(es) with without a "W" grade for Summer A
- Last day to drop class(es)with a Bursar credit of 100% for Summer A

tba May 28 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer A
May 28 May 29 Monday Memorial Day observed; Offices closed
June 1 (Friday) June 1 Thursday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2017 degree conferral
June 1 June 2 Friday Make up day for Memorial Day
tba June 4 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer A
(zero credit hereafter)
June 22 June 23 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer A
June 29 June 30 Friday Summer A semester ends
July 4 (Wednesday) July 3 & 4 Mon/Tues Independence Day observed; Offices closed
July 2 (Monday) July 5 Wednesday Classes for Summer B semester begin
July 3 (Tuesday) July 7
Friday Last day to drop classe(es) without a 'W' grade
tba July 6 Thursday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100% for Summer B
July 6 July 7 Friday Make up day for Independence Day
tba July 11 Tuesday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer B
tba July 18 Tuesday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer B
(zero credit hereafter)
August 1 (Wednesday) August 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for December degree conferral.
August 3 August 4 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer B
August 10 August 11 Friday Summer B semester ends
August 27 August 28 Monday Classes for Fall semester begins