Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Graduate School of Education Academic Calendar

Fall 2014   

August 1 Friday - Last day to submit graduation applications for December 2014 degree conferral.
- Last day to submit applications for comprehensives for Fall 2014. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Sept. 27), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Sept. 27, Oct. 11 & 18)
August 20 Wednesday New graduate student orientation
August 24
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
August 25 Monday - Fall semester 2014 begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
August 29 Friday Labor Day weekend begins
Classes that begin after 4:00 p.m. are canceled
September 1 Monday Labor Day; Offices closed
September 2 Tuesday - Classes resume after Labor Day weekend
- Late and change registration ends
- Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
September 7 Sunday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 8 Monday -Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
September 21 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
September 27 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D., M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin. (M.Ed. has only one session.)
September 28 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
October 1 Wednesday - LAST DAY to submit application for 2015-16 TLLSC internship
- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for format check for December 2014 graduation.
October 6-7 Mon & Tues Fall Break: No classes
October 8 Wednesday Classes resume after Fall Break
October 11 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
October 18 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
October 30 Thursday  Registration for Spring semester 2015 begins at 1:00 p.m.
October 31
(5 pm)
Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" 
November 1 Saturday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2014 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
November 26-29 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving Break; No classes
Offices closed Nov. 27 & 28
December 1  Monday  - Classes resume after Thanksgiving Break
- LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for May 2015  degree conferral. (Graduation applications for August 2015 degree conferral will be February 1, 2015.)
- LAST DAY to submit applications for comprehensives for Spring 2015. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Feb. 14), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Feb. 14, 21 and 28)
- LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2014 graduation
December 6 Saturday Fall semester classes end
December 8-16 Mon - Tues Final examinations
No Exams on Sunday

 

Spring 2015   

January 7 Wednesday New graduate student orientation
January 11
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
January 12 Monday Spring semester 2015 begins
Late and change registration begins
Late registration fees apply
January 19 Monday   Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday; No classes
January 20 Tuesday Late and change registration ends
Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
January 25 Sunday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
January 26 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 Sunday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for August 2015  degree conferral.
February 8 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
February 9 Monday Summer 2015 registration begins at 9:00 a.m.
February 14 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D. M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin (M.Ed. has only one session).
February 15 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
February 18 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Special services available
February 21 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
February 28 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
March 1 Sunday

LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertation for format check for May 2015 graduation.

March 2 - 7 Mon-Sat Spring Break: No classes
March 9 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 23
(5 pm)
Monday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
April 1 Wednesday   LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2015 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
April 2 - 6 Thurs-Mon Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) through Monday afternoon (prior to 4:00 p.m.).

Offices closed Good Friday, April 3
April 9 Thursday Registration for Fall semester 2015 begins at 1:00 p.m.
April 24 Friday Spring semester classes end
May 1 Friday LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2015 degree conferral.
LAST DAY to submit dissertation for format check for August 2015 degree conferral.
April 27 -
May  5
Mon- Tues Final examinations
No Exams on Sunday
May 5 Tues Commencement Ceremony at 10:00 a.m. at the Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus (detailed info on the ceremony will be posted early March);
Ph.D. & M.A. degrees are conferred at the Graduate School's ceremony at 3:00 p.m..
August 24 Monday Classes for Fall 2015 begin

 

Summer 2015   

May 18 Monday Classes for Summer A semester 2015 begin
May 25 Monday Memorial Day observed; Offices closed
May 29 Friday Make up day for Memorial Day
June 1 Monday - LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2015 degree conferral
June 19 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
June 26 Friday Summer A semester ends
June 29 Monday Classes for Summer B semester 2015 begin
July 1 Wednesday LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2015 degree conferral.
July 3 Friday Independence Day observed; Offices closed
July 10 Friday Make up day for Independence Day
July 31 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
August 1 Saturday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for December 2015 degree conferral.
- LAST DAY to submit applications for Fall comprehensives. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Sept. 26), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Sept. 26, October 3 & 10)
August 7 Friday Summer B semester ends
August 24 Monday Classes for Fall semester 2015 begin



Loyola

School of Education
820 N. Michigan Ave., Lewis Towers 11th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.6800 ยท SchlEduc@luc.edu

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy