Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Graduate School of Education Academic Calendar

Fall 2014   

August 1 Friday - Last day to submit graduation applications for December 2014 degree conferral.
- Last day to submit applications for comprehensives for Fall 2014. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Sept. 27), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Sept. 27, Oct. 11 & 18)
August 20 Wednesday New graduate student orientation
August 24
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
August 25 Monday - Fall semester 2014 begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
August 29 Friday Labor Day weekend begins
Classes that begin after 4:00 p.m. are canceled
September 1 Monday Labor Day; Offices closed
September 2 Tuesday - Classes resume after Labor Day weekend
- Late and change registration ends
- Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
September 7 Sunday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 8 Monday -Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
September 21 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
September 27 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D., M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin. (M.Ed. has only one session.)
September 28 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
October 1 Wednesday - LAST DAY to submit application for Fall 2015 student teaching
- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for format check for December 2014 graduation.
October 6-7 Mon & Tues Fall Break: No classes
October 8 Wednesday Classes resume after Fall Break
October 11 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
October 18 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
October 30 Thursday  Registration for Spring semester 2015 begins at 1:00 p.m.
October 31
(5 pm)
Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" 
November 1 Saturday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2014 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
November 26-29 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving Break; No classes
Offices closed Nov. 27 & 28
December 1  Monday  - Classes resume after Thanksgiving Break
- LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for May 2015  degree conferral. (Graduation applications for August 2015 degree conferral will be February 1, 2015.)
- LAST DAY to submit applications for comprehensives for Spring 2015. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Feb. 14), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Feb. 14, 21 and 28)
- LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2014 graduation
December 6 Saturday Fall semester classes end
December 8-16 Mon - Tues Final examinations
No Exams on Sunday

 

Spring 2014   

January 8 Wednesday New graduate student orientation
January 12
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
January 13 Monday Spring semester 2014 begins
Late and change registration begins
Late registration fees apply
January 20 Monday   Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday; No classes
January 21 Tuesday Late and change registration ends
Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
January 26 Sunday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
January 27 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 Saturday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for August 2014  degree conferral.
February 9 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
February 10 Monday Summer 2014 registration begins at 9:00 a.m.
February 15 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D. M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin (M.Ed. has only one session).
February 16 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
February 22 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
March 1 Saturday LAST DAY to submit application for Spring 2015 student teaching
LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertation for format check for May 2014 graduation.
March 1 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
March 3 - 8 Mon-Sat Spring Break: No classes
March 5 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Special services available
March 10 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 24
(5 pm)
Monday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
April 1 Tuesday   LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2014 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
April 10 Thursday Registration for Fall semester 2014 begins at 1:00 p.m.
April 17 - 21 Thurs-Mon Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) through Monday afternoon (prior to 4:00 p.m.).

Offices closed Good Friday, April 18
April 25 Friday Spring semester classes end
May 1 Thursday LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2014 degree conferral.
LAST DAY to submit dissertation for format check for August 2014 degree conferral.
April 28 -
May  6
Mon- Tues Final examinations
No Exams on Sunday
May 7 Wednesday Commencement Ceremony at Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus at 10 a.m. (detailed info on the ceremony will be posted late February);
Ph.D. & M.A. degrees are conferred at the Graduate School's ceremony at 3 p.m..
August 25 Monday Classes for Fall 2014 begin

 

Summer 2014   

May 19 Monday Classes for Summer A semester 2014 begin
May 26 Monday Memorial Day observed; Offices closed
May 30 Friday Make up day for Memorial Day
June 1 Sunday - LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2014 degree conferral
June 20 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
June 27 Friday Summer A semester ends
June 30 Monday Classes for Summer B semester 2014 begin
July 1 Tuesday -LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2014 degree conferral.
July 4 Friday Independence Day observed; Offices closed
July 11 Friday Make up day for Independence Day
August 1 Friday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for December 2014 degree conferral.
- LAST DAY to submit applications for Fall comprehensives. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Sept. 27), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Sept. 27, October 11 & 18)
August 1 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
August 8 Friday Summer B semester ends
August 25 Monday Classes for Fall semester 2014 begin



Loyola

School of Education
820 N. Michigan Ave., Lewis Towers 11th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.6800 ยท SchlEduc@luc.edu

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy